My Current Favourite Science Fiction and Fantasy Books!

Todays discussion is a Top 5 Wednesday topic. Here is the link to the group page for any further information or if you’d like to do these topics yourself!

I didn’t really have to think long and hard about todays list – these books are easily some of my favourite books in general and I’ve rated all either a four or five stars!

5. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

Although the fantasy aspects of book one are really underdeveloped, and I think that aspect is largely over-shadowed by the romance a bit. (Which I personally don’t mind at all.) But Lia, main character, was such a fantastic heroine and had me enthralled the entirety of the story that I just had to have this book on my list. I believe in the second book – The Heart of Betrayal – the fantasy fleshed out a lot more.

4. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

Poison Study, aside from being excellently written, is void of a lot of typical young adult tropes that are more prevalent in many young adult fantasy books today. Which makes it an incredibly refreshing to read. Yelena is a fantastic heroine, who perseveres through a lot despite the internal and external struggles she faces.

3. The Star Thief by Jamie Grey

The Star Thief is truly an exciting, adventurous science fiction duology. The author is very well versed in science fiction and does an excellent job of illustrating her world to the reader. I would highly recommend this book for people who like heroines such as Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series or Rose Hathaway from the Vampire Academy series.

2. Vicious by V.E. Schwab

I was incredibly impressed and totally surprised by Vicious. It was a fantastic tale about superheroes – or rather, antiheroes – and moral ambiguity that makes the story incredibly intriguing. It’s told in a then and now perspective, which really adds to the suspense of the novel. Lastly, each character is complex and have a lot of value to the overall story.

1. Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson

Of all the books on this list Warbreak is the one I’ve read most recently and it’s truly left an impression on me. I believe this is such a sensational fantasy book for many reasons. It has definitely made an impact on my reading and has set the bar pretty high for future fantasy books. I am currently working on my review for this book because there is so much I need to say about this book. I encourage any fantasy lover to add this to their TBR pile!

Thanks for reading! 

Leave a Reply

