JUNE READING PLANS

Monthly TBR and Reading Goals

Hello to my fellow bloggers and bookworms. Today, I’d like to go through some of the books I’m looking forward to read in June.

First of all, it feels inappropriate to not acknowledge what has happened in America over the past week. I believe that protesting racism and systematic oppression is as much of the responsibility of white people, if not more, than people of colour.

As someone who doesn’t live in America, I cannot protest with you. I can however, access resources that are available to me digitally. Starting this month, I’d like to read more non-fiction books to educate myself, so I can become a better ally. I hope some of you will join me in this endeavour. 

(2020) Book Images (3)

(2020) Sub Headings

Men We Reaped by Jesmyn Ward
Memoir • Race

Jesmyn Ward lost five men in her life and after dealing with one loss after another, she began to ask why? As she begun exploring the experience of living through all the dying she realized the truth, that her brother and her friends all died because of who they were and where they were from.

Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge
Race • Politics • Feminism

I watched an interview with Emma Watson and Reni Eddo-Lodge on YT and now I really want to read their book! It exploded a few years ago after this author posted a blog post about this, but I’m sure it’s still wildly relevant.

7

A Spark of White Fire by Sangu Mandanna
Young Adult • Science Fiction • Mythology

In May I binge-watched The 100 and now I’m just in the mood for a lot of SciFi! I haven’t read a lot of Space Opera’s but I’m very excited to start a new series.

The City in the Middle of the Night by Charlie Jane Anders
Adult • Science Fiction • Speculative • LGBT

This book has been on my TBR for a while and I’d love to try and read it this month. Following a ragtag group of exiles on a colonized planet that’s divided between frozen darkness on one side, and blazing endless sunshine on the other – this standalone sounds like something I haven’t read before. I’m kind of ready for something really dark as well.

Pitch Dark by Courtney Alameda
Young Adult • Science Fiction • Horror

When I heard about this book I added it to my TBR immediately, because I love SciFi horror. I don’t think there’s anything more terrifying than things set in deep space!

8

The Dare by Elle Kennedy
New Adult • Sports/College Romance

I was so lucky to receive an ARC of this book. Elle Kennedy’s Briar U books are my favourite college/sports romance books. This book was such a surprise to the community so I can’t wait to read and write a review for it.

The Love Square by Laura Jane Williams
Adult • Romance

Another book I was really lucky to receive an ARC of via Netgalley. This book is apparently perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary’s The Flateshare. I love books with British rom-com vibes, so I’m hyped for The Love Square!

Big Summer by Jennifer Weiner
Adult • Romance • Chick Lit

This May release nearly missed my radar and I’m so glad it didn’t because apparently it has a plus size heroine. The narrative centres about body image and female relationships and so I’m really looking forward to seeing how that’s handled in this chick lit!

Tell Me How You Really Feel by Aminah Mae Safi
Young Adult • Romance • LGBT

This is another book that’s been on my tbr for a while, but the divisive reviews of this hate to love romance have kind of delayed me picking it up. Despite that I’m still hopefull I’ll enjoy this romance.

(2020) Sub Headings (1)

The King of Crows by Libba Bray
Young Adult • Paranormal Thriller • Romance

I got about halfway through this audiobook during May and I’m really loving it. I’m prepared to sob because I’m sure some characters aren’t going to make it out alive!

The Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James
Thriller • Mystery • Paranormal

I just got this from my library and am so excited because of a few great reviews I’ve seen about it. I’m desperate to read some good thriller and mystery books!

(2020) Book Images (3)

If you’d like to help or be a better ally, here are some resources that have been shared to help white allies learn and listen. 

What are you reading in June? I’d love to hear if you’ve read and loved any of the books I mentioned!

Carly

 

5 thoughts on “JUNE READING PLANS

  1. The Dare and The Love square both look amazing!! I’ve been in such a romance mood lately and sports romances are my fav 🤩 great TBR Carly!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooooh I’m adding A Spark of White Fire to my TBR! I love anything to do with mythology. Honestly I don’t think I’ve found a single book about mythology that I haven’t liked! Men We Reaped also sounds amazing! I really hope you enjoy all of these ❤

    -Amber

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s