PEOPLE LIKE US BY DANA MELE | Spoiler Free Review

35356380Title: People Like us
Author: Dana Mele
Series or Standalone: Standalone
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller and LGBT
Publication Date: February 27th, 2018
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers (Penguin Imprint)
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★☆☆

 

Upon beginning People Like Us, I would’ve described it as combination of Gossip Girl meets Netflix’s Thirteen Reasons Why. All the while, still remaining unique in it’s own way. However, the latter half of this book took a sluggish turn that severely hampered my enjoyment of this novel.

Continue reading “PEOPLE LIKE US BY DANA MELE | Spoiler Free Review”

Advertisements

A THANK YOU| Harry Potter Challenge Week - Day Six (Final Challenge!)

The last challenge… a thank you! I couldn’t see myself doing this, cause even the idea feels sappy. But I thought it wasn’t half a bad idea to ‘close’ off this challenge so to speak. (And perhaps challenging myself a little by doing something outside my comfort zone!)

This challenge is about writing a thank you to someone, be it J.K. Rowling, the characters of the Harry Potter world or anyone else. Essentially, we’re telling the world what this series, characters and world means to us!

Continue reading “A THANK YOU| Harry Potter Challenge Week - Day Six (Final Challenge!)”

RANK THE HARRY POTTER MOVIES | Harry Potter Challenge Week - Day Two

The second challenge for day two of the Harry Potterversary week is pretty self explanatory! In my announcement post I said I’d rank both the movies and the books but it turns out it’s been too long since I read the books… they’ve all meshed together in my head a bit. It feels unfair to rank them because I don’t remember much and have only read them through once each.

The movies however… I’ve seen so many times. So it was almost easy. I say almost because I feel as though this list changes seasonally. I pretty much made my list based on which movie I’d rather watch first before the others. My choices aren’t based on what is critically better than the other. Rather, this list is primarily based on feeling! For obvious reasons: watch out for spoilers for the movies below!

Continue reading “RANK THE HARRY POTTER MOVIES | Harry Potter Challenge Week - Day Two”

JURASSIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON | Spoiler Free Review

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 1.22.59 pmTitle: Jurassic Park
Author: Michael Crichton
Series or Standalone: Jurassic Park #1
Genre: Science Fiction, Thriller and Adventure
Publication Date: November 20th, 1990
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★☆
After a series of strange animal attacks on the (fictional) island of Isla Nublar, paleontologist Alan Grant and his paleobotanist graduate student, Ellie Sattler, are contracted to confirm the identification of the species. But before they can, they are whisked away by billionaire John Hammond for a weekend visit to a “biological preserve” he has established on Isla Nublar, which is revealed to be Jurassic Park on arrival – a theme park showcasing cloned dinosaurs.

Continue reading “JURASSIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON | Spoiler Free Review”

MOST RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY TBR ❊ T5W Rewind

I know this isn’t a Wednesday. I apologise for the backlog, I’ve just been holed up studying for upcoming exams. 😝 After seeing a few of my blogger friends choose this topic for their T5W Rewind, I got jealous and had to join in. I’ve added a few interesting things – well I think they’re interesting – to my to-be-read pile. Hopefully this is a diverse enough list that there is something in it for anyone reading!

Also, it’s still T5W Rewind month, so any topic is game! If you’d like to join in on the conversation, head over to the T5W Group on Goodreads to check out all the topics.
Continue reading “MOST RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY TBR ❊ T5W Rewind”

SALT TO THE SEA BY RUTA SEPETYS | Spoiler Free Review

25614492Title: Salt to the Sea
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Series or Standalone: Standalone
Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, War
Publication Date: February 2nd 2016
Publisher: Philomel Books
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★☆

“What had human beings become? Did war make us evil or just activate an evil already lurking within us?”

Continue reading “SALT TO THE SEA BY RUTA SEPETYS | Spoiler Free Review”

STALKING JACK THE RIPPER BY KERRI MANISCALCO | Spoiler Free Review

28962906Title: Stalking Jack the Ripper
Author: Kerri Mansicalco
Series or Standalone: Stalking Jack the Ripper #1
Genre: Young Adult Mystery and Historical Fiction
Publication Date: 20th of Septemner 2016
Publisher: Jimmy Patterson Books
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★☆☆

Stalking Jack the Ripper follows Audrey Rose Wadsworth, a young teenager in the 1880s leading a double life practicing forensic medicine in her Uncle’s laboratory. All the while, shunning the life of social teas and dress fittings that befits her as a lord’s daughter in high society. Opting for the gruesome life, her work takes an unexpected when she is thrusted into an investigation following a series of murders by none other than the leather apron – aka Jack the Ripper.

Continue reading “STALKING JACK THE RIPPER BY KERRI MANISCALCO | Spoiler Free Review”

MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS

I’m definitely behind on my top five Wednesday’s, but that won’t stop me! This weeks topic was was especially fun to create. It involved the ‘mashing’ of books, movies, games, tv shows etc. that would make you pick up a book! (i.e. “A mix of ________ and ___________.”)

Anybody who consumers any type of media would have seen this before. It typically goes along the lines of “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones.” This was definitely one of the funnest T5W’s and is essentially just a list of books I wish existed in real life!

Continue reading “MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS”

THE BEAUTY OF DARKNESS BY MARY E. PEARSON | Spoiler Free Review

25944798Title: The Beauty of Darkness
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Series or Standalone: The Remnant Chronicles #3
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publication Date: August 2nd 2016
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Format: Hardcover
Source: Personal Shelves
Star Rating: ★★★☆☆
When the Beauty of Darkness arrived on my doorstep, I – like a lot of other fans of the series – was a little shocked at the sheer size of it. It was a kind of happy surprise, because after reading Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare, I’ve been less intimidated by YA Fantasy books over 500+ pages. More over, The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal were both roughly five star reads for me.
Consequently, I was confident Pearson would deliver an amazingly epic finale that was on par with her previous work. Instead, The Beauty of Darkness felt extremely longwinded, and quite frankly left me feeling (surprisingly) a little disappointed. (But hey, you can’t please everyone!)

Continue reading “THE BEAUTY OF DARKNESS BY MARY E. PEARSON | Spoiler Free Review”

SCARLET BY A.C. GAUGHEN | Spoiler Free Review

11983940

Title: Scarlet
Author: A.C. Gaughen
Series or Standalone: Scarlet #1
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Retelling, Historical and Romance
Publication Date: February 2012
Publisher: Walker Children’s
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★☆☆☆

 

To be honest, I think two stars is generous for Scarlet, because I honestly could’ve died of boredom reading it.

Continue reading “SCARLET BY A.C. GAUGHEN | Spoiler Free Review”