JURASSIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON | Spoiler Free Review

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 1.22.59 pmTitle: Jurassic Park
Author: Michael Crichton
Series or Standalone: Jurassic Park #1
Genre: Science Fiction, Thriller and Adventure
Publication Date: November 20th, 1990
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★☆
After a series of strange animal attacks on the (fictional) island of Isla Nublar, paleontologist Alan Grant and his paleobotanist graduate student, Ellie Sattler, are contracted to confirm the identification of the species. But before they can, they are whisked away by billionaire John Hammond for a weekend visit to a “biological preserve” he has established on Isla Nublar, which is revealed to be Jurassic Park on arrival – a theme park showcasing cloned dinosaurs.

Continue reading “JURASSIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON | Spoiler Free Review”

Advertisements

SALT TO THE SEA BY RUTA SEPETYS | Spoiler Free Review

25614492Title: Salt to the Sea
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Series or Standalone: Standalone
Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, War
Publication Date: February 2nd 2016
Publisher: Philomel Books
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★☆

“What had human beings become? Did war make us evil or just activate an evil already lurking within us?”

Continue reading “SALT TO THE SEA BY RUTA SEPETYS | Spoiler Free Review”

MY FAVOURITE FANDOM ITEMS ❊ T5W REWIND

This month is Top 5 Wednesday Rewind Month! Meaning this month is the time to do any past topics that I’ve missed. I’ve chosen a recent topic from April this year that I wasn’t able to do because of uni commitments. But I remember reading this topic and thinking this could be a fun list to create… and it was! Despite not being a huge collector of fandom items, I had a few meaningful knick knacks!

Continue reading “MY FAVOURITE FANDOM ITEMS ❊ T5W REWIND”

STALKING JACK THE RIPPER BY KERRI MANISCALCO | Spoiler Free Review

28962906Title: Stalking Jack the Ripper
Author: Kerri Mansicalco
Series or Standalone: Stalking Jack the Ripper #1
Genre: Young Adult Mystery and Historical Fiction
Publication Date: 20th of Septemner 2016
Publisher: Jimmy Patterson Books
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★☆☆

Stalking Jack the Ripper follows Audrey Rose Wadsworth, a young teenager in the 1880s leading a double life practicing forensic medicine in her Uncle’s laboratory. All the while, shunning the life of social teas and dress fittings that befits her as a lord’s daughter in high society. Opting for the gruesome life, her work takes an unexpected when she is thrusted into an investigation following a series of murders by none other than the leather apron – aka Jack the Ripper.

Continue reading “STALKING JACK THE RIPPER BY KERRI MANISCALCO | Spoiler Free Review”

JANUARY READING WRAP UP ❊ 2018

Confused? Don’t be, you read that title right! Despite entering May I’ve decided to begin cataloguing the books I’ve read this year every month, and well, I’ve got to start from the beginning… 😜

The month of January was a re-introduction to fan favourite Leigh Bardugo, as well familiarising myself with the incredibly popular Seanan McGuire.

Continue reading “JANUARY READING WRAP UP ❊ 2018”

MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS

I’m definitely behind on my top five Wednesday’s, but that won’t stop me! This weeks topic was was especially fun to create. It involved the ‘mashing’ of books, movies, games, tv shows etc. that would make you pick up a book! (i.e. “A mix of ________ and ___________.”)

Anybody who consumers any type of media would have seen this before. It typically goes along the lines of “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones.” This was definitely one of the funnest T5W’s and is essentially just a list of books I wish existed in real life!

Continue reading “MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS”

THE BEAUTY OF DARKNESS BY MARY E. PEARSON | Spoiler Free Review

25944798Title: The Beauty of Darkness
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Series or Standalone: The Remnant Chronicles #3
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publication Date: August 2nd 2016
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Format: Hardcover
Source: Personal Shelves
Star Rating: ★★★☆☆
When the Beauty of Darkness arrived on my doorstep, I – like a lot of other fans of the series – was a little shocked at the sheer size of it. It was a kind of happy surprise, because after reading Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare, I’ve been less intimidated by YA Fantasy books over 500+ pages. More over, The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal were both roughly five star reads for me.
Consequently, I was confident Pearson would deliver an amazingly epic finale that was on par with her previous work. Instead, The Beauty of Darkness felt extremely longwinded, and quite frankly left me feeling (surprisingly) a little disappointed. (But hey, you can’t please everyone!)

Continue reading “THE BEAUTY OF DARKNESS BY MARY E. PEARSON | Spoiler Free Review”

SCARLET BY A.C. GAUGHEN | Spoiler Free Review

11983940

Title: Scarlet
Author: A.C. Gaughen
Series or Standalone: Scarlet #1
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Retelling, Historical and Romance
Publication Date: February 2012
Publisher: Walker Children’s
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★☆☆☆

 

To be honest, I think two stars is generous for Scarlet, because I honestly could’ve died of boredom reading it.

Continue reading “SCARLET BY A.C. GAUGHEN | Spoiler Free Review”

BOOKS & COMICS HITTING THE BIG SCREEN IN 2018 | Part II

As April is upon us, it’s time to share the next installment in this series of book to movie adaptations being released in the second quarter of 2018! These releases at first seemed a little lacklustre compared with Part One, as there aren’t a lot of mainstream blockbusters adapted from books releasing this quarter. However upon closer look, these smaller films have a lot of intrigue to them despite the lack of marketing they receive down under.

I’ve denoted all the films I personally want to see with a an asterisk (*), please let me know if there are any films you’re interested in or definitely won’t be seeing either in cinemas or from your couch. 😜 Perhaps you’ve read some of the source material too!

Continue reading “BOOKS & COMICS HITTING THE BIG SCREEN IN 2018 | Part II”

DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES BY SEANAN McGUIRE | Spoiler Free Review

31450908Title: Down Among the Sticks and Bones
Author: Seanan McGuire
Series or Standalone: Wayward Children #2
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Horror, LGBT
Publication Date: June 13th 2017
Publisher: Tor
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★☆

Down Among the Sticks and Bones is the untold story of twins Jack and Jill, who readers were introduced to in Every Heart a Doorway. It’s a short, yet intricate exploration of the twins lives in the Moors, their horror-full magical land, accompanied by wonderful feminist undertones. Continue reading “DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES BY SEANAN McGUIRE | Spoiler Free Review”