JURASSIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON | Spoiler Free Review

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 1.22.59 pmTitle: Jurassic Park
Author: Michael Crichton
Series or Standalone: Jurassic Park #1
Genre: Science Fiction, Thriller and Adventure
Publication Date: November 20th, 1990
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★☆
After a series of strange animal attacks on the (fictional) island of Isla Nublar, paleontologist Alan Grant and his paleobotanist graduate student, Ellie Sattler, are contracted to confirm the identification of the species. But before they can, they are whisked away by billionaire John Hammond for a weekend visit to a “biological preserve” he has established on Isla Nublar, which is revealed to be Jurassic Park on arrival – a theme park showcasing cloned dinosaurs.

Continue reading “JURASSIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON | Spoiler Free Review”

Advertisements

MOST RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY TBR ❊ T5W Rewind

I know this isn’t a Wednesday. I apologise for the backlog, I’ve just been holed up studying for upcoming exams. 😝 After seeing a few of my blogger friends choose this topic for their T5W Rewind, I got jealous and had to join in. I’ve added a few interesting things – well I think they’re interesting – to my to-be-read pile. Hopefully this is a diverse enough list that there is something in it for anyone reading!

Also, it’s still T5W Rewind month, so any topic is game! If you’d like to join in on the conversation, head over to the T5W Group on Goodreads to check out all the topics.
Continue reading “MOST RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY TBR ❊ T5W Rewind”

MY FAVOURITE FANDOM ITEMS ❊ T5W REWIND

This month is Top 5 Wednesday Rewind Month! Meaning this month is the time to do any past topics that I’ve missed. I’ve chosen a recent topic from April this year that I wasn’t able to do because of uni commitments. But I remember reading this topic and thinking this could be a fun list to create… and it was! Despite not being a huge collector of fandom items, I had a few meaningful knick knacks!

Continue reading “MY FAVOURITE FANDOM ITEMS ❊ T5W REWIND”

JANUARY READING WRAP UP ❊ 2018

Confused? Don’t be, you read that title right! Despite entering May I’ve decided to begin cataloguing the books I’ve read this year every month, and well, I’ve got to start from the beginning… 😜

The month of January was a re-introduction to fan favourite Leigh Bardugo, as well familiarising myself with the incredibly popular Seanan McGuire.

Continue reading “JANUARY READING WRAP UP ❊ 2018”

MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS

I’m definitely behind on my top five Wednesday’s, but that won’t stop me! This weeks topic was was especially fun to create. It involved the ‘mashing’ of books, movies, games, tv shows etc. that would make you pick up a book! (i.e. “A mix of ________ and ___________.”)

Anybody who consumers any type of media would have seen this before. It typically goes along the lines of “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones.” This was definitely one of the funnest T5W’s and is essentially just a list of books I wish existed in real life!

Continue reading “MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS”

THE BEAUTY OF DARKNESS BY MARY E. PEARSON | Spoiler Free Review

25944798Title: The Beauty of Darkness
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Series or Standalone: The Remnant Chronicles #3
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publication Date: August 2nd 2016
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Format: Hardcover
Source: Personal Shelves
Star Rating: ★★★☆☆
When the Beauty of Darkness arrived on my doorstep, I – like a lot of other fans of the series – was a little shocked at the sheer size of it. It was a kind of happy surprise, because after reading Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare, I’ve been less intimidated by YA Fantasy books over 500+ pages. More over, The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal were both roughly five star reads for me.
Consequently, I was confident Pearson would deliver an amazingly epic finale that was on par with her previous work. Instead, The Beauty of Darkness felt extremely longwinded, and quite frankly left me feeling (surprisingly) a little disappointed. (But hey, you can’t please everyone!)

Continue reading “THE BEAUTY OF DARKNESS BY MARY E. PEARSON | Spoiler Free Review”

MY AUTO-READ SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY AUTHORS

I feel the need to explain my delay in posts quickly… three assignments due in the last seven days, have some mercy on me please! 😜

Top 5 Wednesday topic this April 11th has been slightly modified. The original topic read; auto-buy authors, and maybe the concept is a little bit different altogether, but honestly I rarely buy books. Of the 25 books I’ve read this year, only two have been from my personal shelf, the rest were sourced from my local library!

I personally found this list very easy to curate, because I’ve read such great books from these authors either recently or in the last year or so. If you’d like to join in on future discussions, visit the goodreads group!

Continue reading “MY AUTO-READ SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY AUTHORS”

SCARLET BY A.C. GAUGHEN | Spoiler Free Review

11983940

Title: Scarlet
Author: A.C. Gaughen
Series or Standalone: Scarlet #1
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Retelling, Historical and Romance
Publication Date: February 2012
Publisher: Walker Children’s
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★☆☆☆

 

To be honest, I think two stars is generous for Scarlet, because I honestly could’ve died of boredom reading it.

Continue reading “SCARLET BY A.C. GAUGHEN | Spoiler Free Review”

DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES BY SEANAN McGUIRE | Spoiler Free Review

31450908Title: Down Among the Sticks and Bones
Author: Seanan McGuire
Series or Standalone: Wayward Children #2
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Horror, LGBT
Publication Date: June 13th 2017
Publisher: Tor
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★☆

Down Among the Sticks and Bones is the untold story of twins Jack and Jill, who readers were introduced to in Every Heart a Doorway. It’s a short, yet intricate exploration of the twins lives in the Moors, their horror-full magical land, accompanied by wonderful feminist undertones. Continue reading “DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES BY SEANAN McGUIRE | Spoiler Free Review”

FICTIONAL JOBS I’D WANT TO HAVE

This weeks T5W topic is one from the archives, and also one that reflects my love for animals! I can only wish that I’d be at least half as qualified for any of these ‘jobs’ on some parallel universe.

Continue reading “FICTIONAL JOBS I’D WANT TO HAVE”