JURASSIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON | Spoiler Free Review

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 1.22.59 pmTitle: Jurassic Park
Author: Michael Crichton
Series or Standalone: Jurassic Park #1
Genre: Science Fiction, Thriller and Adventure
Publication Date: November 20th, 1990
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★☆
After a series of strange animal attacks on the (fictional) island of Isla Nublar, paleontologist Alan Grant and his paleobotanist graduate student, Ellie Sattler, are contracted to confirm the identification of the species. But before they can, they are whisked away by billionaire John Hammond for a weekend visit to a “biological preserve” he has established on Isla Nublar, which is revealed to be Jurassic Park on arrival – a theme park showcasing cloned dinosaurs.

Continue reading “JURASSIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON | Spoiler Free Review”

Advertisements

MOST RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY TBR ❊ T5W Rewind

I know this isn’t a Wednesday. I apologise for the backlog, I’ve just been holed up studying for upcoming exams. 😝 After seeing a few of my blogger friends choose this topic for their T5W Rewind, I got jealous and had to join in. I’ve added a few interesting things – well I think they’re interesting – to my to-be-read pile. Hopefully this is a diverse enough list that there is something in it for anyone reading!

Also, it’s still T5W Rewind month, so any topic is game! If you’d like to join in on the conversation, head over to the T5W Group on Goodreads to check out all the topics.
Continue reading “MOST RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY TBR ❊ T5W Rewind”

MY FAVOURITE FANDOM ITEMS ❊ T5W REWIND

This month is Top 5 Wednesday Rewind Month! Meaning this month is the time to do any past topics that I’ve missed. I’ve chosen a recent topic from April this year that I wasn’t able to do because of uni commitments. But I remember reading this topic and thinking this could be a fun list to create… and it was! Despite not being a huge collector of fandom items, I had a few meaningful knick knacks!

Continue reading “MY FAVOURITE FANDOM ITEMS ❊ T5W REWIND”

MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS

I’m definitely behind on my top five Wednesday’s, but that won’t stop me! This weeks topic was was especially fun to create. It involved the ‘mashing’ of books, movies, games, tv shows etc. that would make you pick up a book! (i.e. “A mix of ________ and ___________.”)

Anybody who consumers any type of media would have seen this before. It typically goes along the lines of “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones.” This was definitely one of the funnest T5W’s and is essentially just a list of books I wish existed in real life!

Continue reading “MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS”

THE BEAUTY OF DARKNESS BY MARY E. PEARSON | Spoiler Free Review

25944798Title: The Beauty of Darkness
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Series or Standalone: The Remnant Chronicles #3
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publication Date: August 2nd 2016
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Format: Hardcover
Source: Personal Shelves
Star Rating: ★★★☆☆
When the Beauty of Darkness arrived on my doorstep, I – like a lot of other fans of the series – was a little shocked at the sheer size of it. It was a kind of happy surprise, because after reading Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare, I’ve been less intimidated by YA Fantasy books over 500+ pages. More over, The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal were both roughly five star reads for me.
Consequently, I was confident Pearson would deliver an amazingly epic finale that was on par with her previous work. Instead, The Beauty of Darkness felt extremely longwinded, and quite frankly left me feeling (surprisingly) a little disappointed. (But hey, you can’t please everyone!)

Continue reading “THE BEAUTY OF DARKNESS BY MARY E. PEARSON | Spoiler Free Review”

MY AUTO-READ SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY AUTHORS

I feel the need to explain my delay in posts quickly… three assignments due in the last seven days, have some mercy on me please! 😜

Top 5 Wednesday topic this April 11th has been slightly modified. The original topic read; auto-buy authors, and maybe the concept is a little bit different altogether, but honestly I rarely buy books. Of the 25 books I’ve read this year, only two have been from my personal shelf, the rest were sourced from my local library!

I personally found this list very easy to curate, because I’ve read such great books from these authors either recently or in the last year or so. If you’d like to join in on future discussions, visit the goodreads group!

Continue reading “MY AUTO-READ SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY AUTHORS”

MY FAVOURITE SFF IN OTHER MEDIA

This weeks top five Wednesday topic is void of books! Instead we’re discussing our favourite science fiction and fantasy in other mediums this week. If you’d like to join in on the weekly conversation head over to the goodreads group here.

Continue reading “MY FAVOURITE SFF IN OTHER MEDIA”

SIX OF CROWS BY LEIGH BARDUGO | Spoiler Free Review

23437156Title: Six of Crows
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Series or Standalone: Six of Crows #1
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publication Date: September 29th 2015
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★★

Six of Crows was undeniably the best way to kick of my reading year in 2018 and easily became an instant favourite.

Continue reading “SIX OF CROWS BY LEIGH BARDUGO | Spoiler Free Review”

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard | Spoiler Free Review

21414439Series: The Witchlands, Book One

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult and Romance

Publisher: Tor Teen

Rating: ★★★★☆

I found that I had a really interesting and unexpected experience whilst listening to Truthwitch via Audiobook. At first, I was a little less than impressed. A lot of the criticisms that I’d heard about this book following its release rang true. However upon finishing this book, I was in disbelief I contemplated DNF’ing it earlier on, because by the end I was absolutely enthralled with the story and the characters. 

Continue reading “Truthwitch by Susan Dennard | Spoiler Free Review”

Warbreaker by Brandon Sander

1268479

 

Spoiler Free Review

High Fantasy 

Warbreaker #1.0

My Rating: ★★★★☆

This book has truly left an impression on me. I know I didn’t give this book a perfect rating (which I will discuss further on) but rating aside, I believe this is such a sensational fantasy book for many reasons. It has definitely made an impact on my reading and has set the bar pretty high for future fantasy books.

Continue reading “Warbreaker by Brandon Sander”