I ADORED EMERGENCY CONTACT’S SWEET DIGITAL ROMANCE

“Romance was volatile, and if they came out of it with less than they had going in, she would be devastated.”

emergency-contact-9781534408968_lgSpoiler Free Review
Title: Emergency Contact
Author: Mary H.K. Choi
Series or Standalone: Standalone
Genre: YA/NA, Contemporary, Romance
Publication Date: March 27th 2018
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: eARC
Source: Netgally
Star Rating: ★★★☆☆
GOODREADS

Emergency Contact was one of those books that bought an interesting array of mixed reviews upon its release. Despite the fact that I’m not a huge contemporary reader, picking up a YA contemporary every now and again for a lighter read feels very homey.

I can happily say, Emergency Contact does just the trick. But it’s accompanied with important elements that heighten this story from your average fluffy YA contemporary to an honest young adult story about flawed characters.

Continue reading “I ADORED EMERGENCY CONTACT’S SWEET DIGITAL ROMANCE”

Advertisements

CHARACTERS THAT EMBODY HOUSE SLYTHERIN 

Hello friends! How are you? Today I’m doing one of the most exciting Top 5 Wednesdays I’ve ever written! 😈🐍

Continue reading “CHARACTERS THAT EMBODY HOUSE SLYTHERIN “

THE SHATTERED COURT BY M.J. SCOTT

23281690.jpgSpoiler Free Review

Title: The Shattered Court
Author: M.J. Scott
Series or Standalone: Series ‘The Four Arts’ (Book #1)
Genre: Adult, Fantasy, Romance & Witches
Publication Date: April 28th 2015
Publisher: Roc
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★☆☆☆
GOODREADS

 

Full disclosure, I went into this book believing that it was fantasy romance. And I went solely into this book for that fact alone. I am a reader who loves romance in a fantasy context, and was so excited. Unfortunately, I found The Shattered Court to be an underwhelming instalment in the genre.

Continue reading “THE SHATTERED COURT BY M.J. SCOTT”

JURASSIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 1.22.59 pmTitle: Jurassic Park
Author: Michael Crichton
Series or Standalone: Jurassic Park #1
Genre: Science Fiction, Thriller and Adventure
Publication Date: November 20th, 1990
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★☆
After a series of strange animal attacks on the (fictional) island of Isla Nublar, paleontologist Alan Grant and his paleobotanist graduate student, Ellie Sattler, are contracted to confirm the identification of the species. But before they can, they are whisked away by billionaire John Hammond for a weekend visit to a “biological preserve” he has established on Isla Nublar, which is revealed to be Jurassic Park on arrival – a theme park showcasing cloned dinosaurs.

Continue reading “JURASSIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON”

MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS

I’m definitely behind on my top five Wednesday’s, but that won’t stop me! This weeks topic was was especially fun to create. It involved the ‘mashing’ of books, movies, games, tv shows etc. that would make you pick up a book! (i.e. “A mix of ________ and ___________.”)

Anybody who consumers any type of media would have seen this before. It typically goes along the lines of “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones.” This was definitely one of the funnest T5W’s and is essentially just a list of books I wish existed in real life!

Continue reading “MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS”

THE BEAUTY OF DARKNESS BY MARY E. PEARSON

25944798Title: The Beauty of Darkness
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Series or Standalone: The Remnant Chronicles #3
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publication Date: August 2nd 2016
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Format: Hardcover
Source: Personal Shelves
Star Rating: ★★★☆☆
When the Beauty of Darkness arrived on my doorstep, I – like a lot of other fans of the series – was a little shocked at the sheer size of it. It was a kind of happy surprise, because after reading Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare, I’ve been less intimidated by YA Fantasy books over 500+ pages. More over, The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal were both roughly five star reads for me.
Consequently, I was confident Pearson would deliver an amazingly epic finale that was on par with her previous work. Instead, The Beauty of Darkness felt extremely longwinded, and quite frankly left me feeling (surprisingly) a little disappointed. (But hey, you can’t please everyone!)

Continue reading “THE BEAUTY OF DARKNESS BY MARY E. PEARSON”

SCARLET BY A.C. GAUGHEN

11983940

Title: Scarlet
Author: A.C. Gaughen
Series or Standalone: Scarlet #1
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Retelling, Historical and Romance
Publication Date: February 2012
Publisher: Walker Children’s
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★☆☆☆

 

To be honest, I think two stars is generous for Scarlet, because I honestly could’ve died of boredom reading it.

Continue reading “SCARLET BY A.C. GAUGHEN”

DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES BY SEANAN McGUIRE

31450908Title: Down Among the Sticks and Bones
Author: Seanan McGuire
Series or Standalone: Wayward Children #2
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Horror, LGBT
Publication Date: June 13th 2017
Publisher: Tor
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★☆

Down Among the Sticks and Bones is the untold story of twins Jack and Jill, who readers were introduced to in Every Heart a Doorway. It’s a short, yet intricate exploration of the twins lives in the Moors, their horror-full magical land, accompanied by wonderful feminist undertones. Continue reading “DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES BY SEANAN McGUIRE”

FOUR WEEKS, FIVE PEOPLE BY JENNIER YU

34739726Title: Four Weeks, Five People
Author: Jennifer Yu
Series or Standalone: Standalone
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary and Mental Health
Publication Date: May 2nd 2017
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★☆☆
3 1/2 stars.

Four Weeks, Five People follows five teens – Stella, Clarissa, Andrew, Ben and Mason – who are sent to Camp Ugunduzi, a therapeutic wilderness program that helps adolescents with mental illnesses.

Continue reading “FOUR WEEKS, FIVE PEOPLE BY JENNIER YU”

FICTIONAL JOBS I’D WANT TO HAVE

This weeks T5W topic is one from the archives, and also one that reflects my love for animals! I can only wish that I’d be at least half as qualified for any of these ‘jobs’ on some parallel universe.

Continue reading “FICTIONAL JOBS I’D WANT TO HAVE”