MOST RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY TBR ❊ T5W Rewind

I know this isn’t a Wednesday. I apologise for the backlog, I’ve just been holed up studying for upcoming exams. 😝 After seeing a few of my blogger friends choose this topic for their T5W Rewind, I got jealous and had to join in. I’ve added a few interesting things – well I think they’re interesting – to my to-be-read pile. Hopefully this is a diverse enough list that there is something in it for anyone reading!

Also, it’s still T5W Rewind month, so any topic is game! If you’d like to join in on the conversation, head over to the T5W Group on Goodreads to check out all the topics.
Continue reading “MOST RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY TBR ❊ T5W Rewind”

Advertisements

JANUARY READING WRAP UP ❊ 2018

Confused? Don’t be, you read that title right! Despite entering May I’ve decided to begin cataloguing the books I’ve read this year every month, and well, I’ve got to start from the beginning… 😜

The month of January was a re-introduction to fan favourite Leigh Bardugo, as well familiarising myself with the incredibly popular Seanan McGuire.

Continue reading “JANUARY READING WRAP UP ❊ 2018”

MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS

I’m definitely behind on my top five Wednesday’s, but that won’t stop me! This weeks topic was was especially fun to create. It involved the ‘mashing’ of books, movies, games, tv shows etc. that would make you pick up a book! (i.e. “A mix of ________ and ___________.”)

Anybody who consumers any type of media would have seen this before. It typically goes along the lines of “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones.” This was definitely one of the funnest T5W’s and is essentially just a list of books I wish existed in real life!

Continue reading “MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS”

THE BEAUTY OF DARKNESS BY MARY E. PEARSON | Spoiler Free Review

25944798Title: The Beauty of Darkness
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Series or Standalone: The Remnant Chronicles #3
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publication Date: August 2nd 2016
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Format: Hardcover
Source: Personal Shelves
Star Rating: ★★★☆☆
When the Beauty of Darkness arrived on my doorstep, I – like a lot of other fans of the series – was a little shocked at the sheer size of it. It was a kind of happy surprise, because after reading Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare, I’ve been less intimidated by YA Fantasy books over 500+ pages. More over, The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal were both roughly five star reads for me.
Consequently, I was confident Pearson would deliver an amazingly epic finale that was on par with her previous work. Instead, The Beauty of Darkness felt extremely longwinded, and quite frankly left me feeling (surprisingly) a little disappointed. (But hey, you can’t please everyone!)

Continue reading “THE BEAUTY OF DARKNESS BY MARY E. PEARSON | Spoiler Free Review”

SCARLET BY A.C. GAUGHEN | Spoiler Free Review

11983940

Title: Scarlet
Author: A.C. Gaughen
Series or Standalone: Scarlet #1
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Retelling, Historical and Romance
Publication Date: February 2012
Publisher: Walker Children’s
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★☆☆☆

 

To be honest, I think two stars is generous for Scarlet, because I honestly could’ve died of boredom reading it.

Continue reading “SCARLET BY A.C. GAUGHEN | Spoiler Free Review”

DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES BY SEANAN McGUIRE | Spoiler Free Review

31450908Title: Down Among the Sticks and Bones
Author: Seanan McGuire
Series or Standalone: Wayward Children #2
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Horror, LGBT
Publication Date: June 13th 2017
Publisher: Tor
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★☆

Down Among the Sticks and Bones is the untold story of twins Jack and Jill, who readers were introduced to in Every Heart a Doorway. It’s a short, yet intricate exploration of the twins lives in the Moors, their horror-full magical land, accompanied by wonderful feminist undertones. Continue reading “DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES BY SEANAN McGUIRE | Spoiler Free Review”

LADY MIDNIGHT BY CASSANDRA CLARE | Spoiler Free Review

25494343Title: Lady Midnight
Author: Cassandra Clare
Series or Standalone: The Dark Artifices #1
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publication Date: 8th of March 2016
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★★

 

 

‘I heard about you. Everyone said you would be the next Jace Herondale. The next great Shadowhunter warrior.’

Continue reading “LADY MIDNIGHT BY CASSANDRA CLARE | Spoiler Free Review”

EVERY HEART A DOORWAY BY SEANAN McGUIRE | Spoiler Free Review

25526296Title: Every Heart a Doory
Author: Seanan McGuire (Also writes as Mira Grant)
Series or Standalone: Wayward Children #1
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, LGBT+
Publication Date: April 5th 2016
Publisher: Tor
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★☆
I’m glad I stayed away from this series for as long as I could, because this reading experience ended up being a wonderfully weird surprise that I devoured rapidly.

Continue reading “EVERY HEART A DOORWAY BY SEANAN McGUIRE | Spoiler Free Review”

FORGETTABLE BOOKS

This weeks Top Five Wednesday topic is books we found to be forgettable. These books may be ones you loved or hated whilst reading, but ultimately just don’t remember them. For me, these were books I rated roughly between two to three (out of five) stars. Because books I really didn’t enjoy, I actually remember why (and with a burning passion.) Same goes for the books that I love. However the books I thought were mediocre or below average made this list.

Continue reading “FORGETTABLE BOOKS”

SIX OF CROWS BY LEIGH BARDUGO | Spoiler Free Review

23437156Title: Six of Crows
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Series or Standalone: Six of Crows #1
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publication Date: September 29th 2015
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Star Rating: ★★★★★

Six of Crows was undeniably the best way to kick of my reading year in 2018 and easily became an instant favourite.

Continue reading “SIX OF CROWS BY LEIGH BARDUGO | Spoiler Free Review”