BOOKS I’VE REMOVED FROM MY TBR ❊ T5W

Welcome to the rare instance where I actually manage to easily curate my weekly T5W list.

Why? Because I actually regularly cull my Goodreads TBR pile to ensure the list stays below 50 or safely around it.

Also, I regularly DNF books. I can tell in whether a book is not for me or it might be a put down for now kind of thing. If it’s the former, well it gets kicked off my TBR!

This is one of those T5W’s that is therapeutic to write. Don’t forget to let me know in the comment section what you really need to remove from your TBR pile.

Continue reading “BOOKS I’VE REMOVED FROM MY TBR ❊ T5W”

Advertisements

PREDICTING FUTURE CLASSICS ❊ T5W

Before I sat down to write this list, I was slightly petrified in doing so. That is, because I don’t make an effort to read a lot of meaningful literary fiction books or anything. I had this preconceived notion that science fiction, fantasy or young adult  (the genres I predominantly read) couldn’t be considered ‘classics.’

That’s probably because I’m not well versed in the genre. When I think of classical literature I think of Pride and Prejudice, The Great Gatsby and 1984. All books I’ve never read. Or books apart of school curriculums, such as How To Kill a Mockingbird or Shakespeare plays. Books that personally never got me excited about reading.

However in doing some research in preparation for this list, my perception has really changed. Young adult can of course be considered classics! Books like The Hunger Games and Harry Potter are essentially dubbed as “modern classics.” What perhaps grants a book ‘classic’ status, has nothing to do with its genre. But perhaps everything to do with the theme(s) present with in them and how well the author explores those themes. Are they themes that can potentially stand the test of time?…
Continue reading “PREDICTING FUTURE CLASSICS ❊ T5W”

MOST RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY TBR ❊ T5W Rewind

I know this isn’t a Wednesday. I apologise for the backlog, I’ve just been holed up studying for upcoming exams. 😝 After seeing a few of my blogger friends choose this topic for their T5W Rewind, I got jealous and had to join in. I’ve added a few interesting things – well I think they’re interesting – to my to-be-read pile. Hopefully this is a diverse enough list that there is something in it for anyone reading!

Also, it’s still T5W Rewind month, so any topic is game! If you’d like to join in on the conversation, head over to the T5W Group on Goodreads to check out all the topics.
Continue reading “MOST RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY TBR ❊ T5W Rewind”

MY FAVOURITE FANDOM ITEMS ❊ T5W REWIND

This month is Top 5 Wednesday Rewind Month! Meaning this month is the time to do any past topics that I’ve missed. I’ve chosen a recent topic from April this year that I wasn’t able to do because of uni commitments. But I remember reading this topic and thinking this could be a fun list to create… and it was! Despite not being a huge collector of fandom items, I had a few meaningful knick knacks!

Continue reading “MY FAVOURITE FANDOM ITEMS ❊ T5W REWIND”

MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS

I’m definitely behind on my top five Wednesday’s, but that won’t stop me! This weeks topic was was especially fun to create. It involved the ‘mashing’ of books, movies, games, tv shows etc. that would make you pick up a book! (i.e. “A mix of ________ and ___________.”)

Anybody who consumers any type of media would have seen this before. It typically goes along the lines of “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones.” This was definitely one of the funnest T5W’s and is essentially just a list of books I wish existed in real life!

Continue reading “MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS”

MY AUTO-READ SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY AUTHORS

I feel the need to explain my delay in posts quickly… three assignments due in the last seven days, have some mercy on me please! 😜

Top 5 Wednesday topic this April 11th has been slightly modified. The original topic read; auto-buy authors, and maybe the concept is a little bit different altogether, but honestly I rarely buy books. Of the 25 books I’ve read this year, only two have been from my personal shelf, the rest were sourced from my local library!

I personally found this list very easy to curate, because I’ve read such great books from these authors either recently or in the last year or so. If you’d like to join in on future discussions, visit the goodreads group!

Continue reading “MY AUTO-READ SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY AUTHORS”

MY FAVOURITE SFF IN OTHER MEDIA

This weeks top five Wednesday topic is void of books! Instead we’re discussing our favourite science fiction and fantasy in other mediums this week. If you’d like to join in on the weekly conversation head over to the goodreads group here.

Continue reading “MY FAVOURITE SFF IN OTHER MEDIA”

FICTIONAL JOBS I’D WANT TO HAVE

This weeks T5W topic is one from the archives, and also one that reflects my love for animals! I can only wish that I’d be at least half as qualified for any of these ‘jobs’ on some parallel universe.

Continue reading “FICTIONAL JOBS I’D WANT TO HAVE”

MY CURRENT FAVOURITE ROMANCE NOVELS

More often than not, romance books get a pretty bad rep for reasons such as their cheesy titles, soft porn covers and myriad of clichéd tropes.

I really enjoy books with romance as a strong subplot. (Six of Crows, anyone?) I typically don’t gravitate towards Romance as a genre. However February is a great time to appreciate the few romance books I’ve read and loved.

Don’t forget to let me know in the comment section if you’ve read any of these books or whether you can recommend some steamy romance books to me! 😜

Continue reading “MY CURRENT FAVOURITE ROMANCE NOVELS”

MY FAVOURITE F/F COUPLES

Another week… another top five Wednesday! Following in suit of last weeks theme, todays topic is about highlighting our favourite ladies who love other ladies!

I’d love to know in the comment section below some of your favourite stories with F/F romances. This list was a little hard to create, which means I’m not reading enough LGBT+ stories at the moment!

(Also sorry for the delayed post, I was away for a short camping trip!)

Continue reading “MY FAVOURITE F/F COUPLES”