MY FAVOURITE FRIEND GROUPS

This weeks topic for Top 5 Wednesday is one of my favourites because I’m reflecting on my favourite friendship groups!

Continue reading “MY FAVOURITE FRIEND GROUPS”

Advertisements

MY FAVOURITE REDEMPTION ARCS

Redemption Arcs… definitely a yay from me. Villains can sometimes make the best of heroes. Oddly enough.

Continue reading “MY FAVOURITE REDEMPTION ARCS”

BOOKS I LOVED WITH TROPES I USUALLY HATE

Some tropes, no matter how annoying, can be absolved if they’re in the hands of a capable author… right?

That might depend on how forgiving the reader is though… you can expect me to be very forgiving.

Continue reading “BOOKS I LOVED WITH TROPES I USUALLY HATE”

FAVOURITES I’D LIKE TO REVISIT

Hello everyone and welcome to this weeks Top Five Wednesday! This one’s an interesting one, where we get to talk a little bit more about some old favourites that I probably have never mentioned on my blog yet.

I personally don’t make much of a consistent effort to re-read my favourite books. I tend to only revisit books if I’m behind on a series. I definitely tend to re-watch shows all the time (Brooklyn Nine-Nine and Rick and Morty most often because they always make me laugh!) But this list will otherwise focus on mostly on books because I actually have a few planned re-reads!

Although, this topic is great because it can cover more than books — movies, tv and games can very much apply to this topic! And if you want to join in on future T5W’s, here’s the link the the goodreads group!

Continue reading “FAVOURITES I’D LIKE TO REVISIT”

BOOKS I’VE REMOVED FROM MY TBR ❊ T5W

Welcome to the rare instance where I actually manage to easily curate my weekly T5W list.

Why? Because I actually regularly cull my Goodreads TBR pile to ensure the list stays below 50 or safely around it.

Also, I regularly DNF books. I can tell in whether a book is not for me or it might be a put down for now kind of thing. If it’s the former, well it gets kicked off my TBR!

This is one of those T5W’s that is therapeutic to write. Don’t forget to let me know in the comment section what you really need to remove from your TBR pile.

Continue reading “BOOKS I’VE REMOVED FROM MY TBR ❊ T5W”

PREDICTING FUTURE CLASSICS ❊ T5W

Before I sat down to write this list, I was slightly petrified in doing so. That is, because I don’t make an effort to read a lot of meaningful literary fiction books or anything. I had this preconceived notion that science fiction, fantasy or young adult  (the genres I predominantly read) couldn’t be considered ‘classics.’

That’s probably because I’m not well versed in the genre. When I think of classical literature I think of Pride and Prejudice, The Great Gatsby and 1984. All books I’ve never read. Or books apart of school curriculums, such as How To Kill a Mockingbird or Shakespeare plays. Books that personally never got me excited about reading.

However in doing some research in preparation for this list, my perception has really changed. Young adult can of course be considered classics! Books like The Hunger Games and Harry Potter are essentially dubbed as “modern classics.” What perhaps grants a book ‘classic’ status, has nothing to do with its genre. But perhaps everything to do with the theme(s) present with in them and how well the author explores those themes. Are they themes that can potentially stand the test of time?…
Continue reading “PREDICTING FUTURE CLASSICS ❊ T5W”

MOST RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY TBR ❊ T5W Rewind

I know this isn’t a Wednesday. I apologise for the backlog, I’ve just been holed up studying for upcoming exams. 😝 After seeing a few of my blogger friends choose this topic for their T5W Rewind, I got jealous and had to join in. I’ve added a few interesting things – well I think they’re interesting – to my to-be-read pile. Hopefully this is a diverse enough list that there is something in it for anyone reading!

Also, it’s still T5W Rewind month, so any topic is game! If you’d like to join in on the conversation, head over to the T5W Group on Goodreads to check out all the topics.
Continue reading “MOST RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY TBR ❊ T5W Rewind”

MY FAVOURITE FANDOM ITEMS ❊ T5W REWIND

This month is Top 5 Wednesday Rewind Month! Meaning this month is the time to do any past topics that I’ve missed. I’ve chosen a recent topic from April this year that I wasn’t able to do because of uni commitments. But I remember reading this topic and thinking this could be a fun list to create… and it was! Despite not being a huge collector of fandom items, I had a few meaningful knick knacks!

Continue reading “MY FAVOURITE FANDOM ITEMS ❊ T5W REWIND”

MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS

I’m definitely behind on my top five Wednesday’s, but that won’t stop me! This weeks topic was was especially fun to create. It involved the ‘mashing’ of books, movies, games, tv shows etc. that would make you pick up a book! (i.e. “A mix of ________ and ___________.”)

Anybody who consumers any type of media would have seen this before. It typically goes along the lines of “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones.” This was definitely one of the funnest T5W’s and is essentially just a list of books I wish existed in real life!

Continue reading “MY IDEAL BOOK MASHUPS”

MY AUTO-READ SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY AUTHORS

I feel the need to explain my delay in posts quickly… three assignments due in the last seven days, have some mercy on me please! 😜

Top 5 Wednesday topic this April 11th has been slightly modified. The original topic read; auto-buy authors, and maybe the concept is a little bit different altogether, but honestly I rarely buy books. Of the 25 books I’ve read this year, only two have been from my personal shelf, the rest were sourced from my local library!

I personally found this list very easy to curate, because I’ve read such great books from these authors either recently or in the last year or so. If you’d like to join in on future discussions, visit the goodreads group!

Continue reading “MY AUTO-READ SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY AUTHORS”